Skip to content

Blatherskite

Foolish gibberish

  • AboutI am also known as CraftyMoni elsewhere on the web. I am a Children’s Librarian. I am a photographer. I am a knitter. I am a reader. I am a wannabe poet. I blog. Sometimes I complain. I like to swear. I have a really twisted sense of humor. I think I might be a Zen Buddhist (Still trying to decide). Not a fan of organized religion. I am very liberal and can be vocal about it at times. I’m a daydreamer. Sometimes sassy. I try to be compassionate. I think I’m pretty nice most of the time. You can delve into deeper waters by reading these posts. You can see my photography on my Flickr page. If you like any photos you see there or on this site and would like to buy a print let me know. I would be happy to sell one to you! I blather about library stuff on  Twitter. You will also find me on Google+ and Facebook. Enjoy your visit!  
  • Creative Folio
    • Photography
      • Pinhole
    • Writing
      • Poetry

recent posts

  • Indian Beach, Oregon Coast
  • Sun Flare
  • Oranges
  • Summer Solstice to Winter Solstice 2024
  • Heidelberg

about

I am a Children’s Librarian living in the Portland, Oregon area. When I am not Children’s Librianing I like to play with cameras and film. I also like playing the ukulele, knitting, sketching, and hiking.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Now we fight

    Now we fight

    November 17, 2016

    My iPhone seems to have taken on a personality of it’s own the past few days and decided to, randomly, play protest songs for me. It has been kind of weird but it has also brought a smile to my face and has emboldened me to fight against hate. I’ve lovingly referred to this as my iPhone’s “Fight the Power” playlist. Here it is so far.
    Renegades of Funk. Rage Against The Machine


    If the Kids Are United. Sham 69


    All You Fascists. Billy Bragg and Wilco


    White Riot. The Clash

     

    Megalomaniac. Incubus

    Like everyone else, I am moved to do what I can to support those doing good in the world. I don’t have a lot of extra money at the end of the month so I am trying to be intentional about where it goes. I have already set up a monthly donation to Planned Parenthood because that is just a no-brainer. They provided me with health services when I was in my twenties when I didn’t have health insurance so I owe that organization a huge debt of gratitude. I should have been donating before now!

    I feel that I really need to support good journalism right now. Freedom of the Press is one of our greatest rights and I want to support it. At the moment I am trying to decide which paper I am going to subscribe to. I am leaning toward the New York Times because I have always admired the journalism there.

    I am also planning on making donations to the ACLU and the NRDC.

    And because I am committed to promoting peace in this world I have re-subscribed to Tricycle so I can be exposed to ALL OF THE DHARMA.

    I am fired up and ready to fight. And, apparently, I have the approval of my iPhone.


    About the featured photo:

    I was trying to find a suitable photo for this post  and came across this photo I took in Dublin. I can’t remember who the artist is but here is a video of him putting it up, and here is a better shot of it on IG. I keep seeing ADW Art associated with the piece.  The piece is a response to the Dublin coat of arms and it’s motto (according to the video).

    I love it.

    For you photography geeks: I used my Olympus XA and Tri-x film for the shot.

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • Ondu Selfies

    Ondu Selfies

    November 12, 2016

    My first roll through my Ondu also featured a couple of selfies! Here they are.

    Eat like you mean it

    ——————–
    Geeky Bits:
    Camera: Ondu Mkii
    Film: Portra 160
    Exposure time:
    Slow selfie in a pool: 58 seconds
    Eat Like You Mean It: 1 minute 7 seconds

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • scattered thoughts about the election

    scattered thoughts about the election

    November 9, 2016

    What. The Fuck.

    Did we really just elect a reality tv star with no political experience to speak of into the office of President of the United States? Even worse, that he has emboldened  racists and mysogynists to show their true colors, to make it ok to hate and to bully and be violent. I am sad for us. For what we have become. Or maybe it’s more like I’m sad that I am seeing us for what we truly are: a nation of racist mysogynists.

    yes, I think this is it.

    Last night as I was watching in horror the numbers roll in for Trump I was still in denial. I have been in denial for more than a year. When he began his race I laughed it off and said,”Oh he is ridiculous. This will never happen.” And even as he became the Republican presidential candidate (to my utter shock) I still couldn’t believe that he would beat Hillary. “Trump will never win, ” I said to myself.

    When I woke up and checked the result and Google told me that “Trump won the presidency” I was forced to believe it. There it was right there. My reaction was to sit on my couch and sob.

    We fucked up. We voted this monster into office.

    I realize that dismissing those that voted for Trump as “stupid” or “uneducated” is misguided and wrong. There are people in my life that I love and respect that voted for Trump. I can’t just dismiss them. I refuse to do that.

    As one of my British friends said after Brexit, we need to engage. The people who voted for Trump voted for him for a reason. We need to figure out that reason. Not all of them are racist mysogynists (though, admittedly, it’s hard to say this because how can you not be one if you support one so obviously racist and mysogynistic).

    Trump gamed the system. He made it work for him. He realized who he needed to speak to, and he figured out how to speak to them. He figured out what to say to them. And it worked.

    We need to do the same thing. We need to find someone who understands the system and game it the same way, but this person needs to be a good person, not a hateful, racist, mysogynistic shit bag.

    This person should not be a Clinton.

    This may not be a popular opinion but I’m going to get this off my chest: Why the fuck did we run Hilary Clinton, with all of her baggage, against Trump? Let’s face it. The DNC fucked up. We fucked up.

    And now we have made our bed and we will have to lay in it for four years. I have no idea what will happen. But it will not be pretty.

     

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • Sunburst

    Sunburst

    November 6, 2016

    When I got the new Ondu MKII in my hot little hands I loaded it up with Portra 160 and took it to one of my favorite places, a place I’ve pinholed many, many times. Zig Zag Falls.

    I enjoyed the experience of using this camera. It’s a joy to work with, so easy to carry around and so easy to use. Here are some more photos from that day.

    Zig Zag Falls
    Zig Zag River

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • One Pinhole A Day

    One Pinhole A Day

    November 3, 2016

    I’ve been having trouble motivating myself to do many of the things that I love to do lately, pinhole photography being one of those things. I’ve been missing it. So I decided I needed a project. I decided that a “One Pinhole Photo A Day” project would be just the thing to get me back in the saddle.

    My plan is to use all of my cameras. To make things manageable I will shoot either 120 or 35mm during the week and 4×5 on the weekend (shooting one sheet for each weekend day). I’m hoping to even do some printing as well! Maybe this will jump start my motivation.

    I will but posting the highlights of this project on Flickr and on my photography blog, so if you are interested in following along you can find the project there.

    Wish me luck!

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
Previous Page Next Page

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

  • Subscribe Subscribed
    • Blatherskite
    • Join 336 other subscribers
    • Already have a WordPress.com account? Log in now.
    • Blatherskite
    • Subscribe Subscribed
    • Sign up
    • Log in
    • Report this content
    • View site in Reader
    • Manage subscriptions
    • Collapse this bar
%d