Skip to content

Blatherskite

Foolish gibberish

  • AboutI am also known as CraftyMoni elsewhere on the web. I am a Children’s Librarian. I am a photographer. I am a knitter. I am a reader. I am a wannabe poet. I blog. Sometimes I complain. I like to swear. I have a really twisted sense of humor. I think I might be a Zen Buddhist (Still trying to decide). Not a fan of organized religion. I am very liberal and can be vocal about it at times. I’m a daydreamer. Sometimes sassy. I try to be compassionate. I think I’m pretty nice most of the time. You can delve into deeper waters by reading these posts. You can see my photography on my Flickr page. If you like any photos you see there or on this site and would like to buy a print let me know. I would be happy to sell one to you! I blather about library stuff on  Twitter. You will also find me on Google+ and Facebook. Enjoy your visit!  
  • Creative Folio
    • Photography
      • Pinhole
    • Writing
      • Poetry

recent posts

  • Indian Beach, Oregon Coast
  • Sun Flare
  • Oranges
  • Summer Solstice to Winter Solstice 2024
  • Heidelberg

about

I am a Children’s Librarian living in the Portland, Oregon area. When I am not Children’s Librianing I like to play with cameras and film. I also like playing the ukulele, knitting, sketching, and hiking.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Let’s talk about hair

    Let’s talk about hair

    July 5, 2017

    32583030462_e4cd157dda_kBack in January I caved into the advertising machine of New Wash and paid an inordinate amount of money for an 8 oz bottle of this “shampoo” (that’s not really shampoo). I also bought some of their Hair Balm (also kind of expensive). I just couldn’t resist the siren song of possibly fabulous hair.

    If you don’t know about New Wash, it is, essentially, a co-wash product. Co-washing is when you wash your hair with conditioner instead of shampoo.

    So using it is quite the production. You have to massage it into your scalp and then comb it into the ends and let it sit in your hair for a few minutes before rinsing it. Rinsing it takes FOREVER because it is hard to rinse out and if you don’t rinse every single bit of it out of your hair it will look and feel greasy and the opposite of fabulous.

    After a month of hair fail  I came to realize that this type of product just wasn’t meant for me (I have wavy hair but it’s really fine and not necessarily dry).  However, I read somewhere online that using a regular shampoo once a week with it is helpful, so I tried that and it did, indeed, improve my experience with the product and in the end I kind of liked how it made my hair feel. It was kind of a love/hate thing. I loved the fact that I could get a comb through my hair, but I hated how flat and lifeless it made my hair, no matter how long I spent rinsing it out. When I finally ran out at the beginning of this month I was relieved to be done with this expensive experiment.

    I kept on with my regular shampoo and conditioner but after a few days the same old problems arose from before I started using New Wash (and the reason I was drawn to it in the first place). My skin is ultra sensitive and dries easily. The shampoo I was using was drying my scalp and making my head itch. Not fun!

    Over the weekend one of my social media friends (I can’t remember who it was now!) posted a selfie with the hashtag #curlygirl. I decided to jump down that rabbit hole with both feet. The absolute best thing about this was that the products for it are CHEAP! Drugstore conditioner and hair gel – and the cheap stuff at that! The cost of these two products is a fraction of a fraction of the price of New Wash. The Curly Girl method was the originator of co-washing, which is something I didn’t know until this weekend. I bought the book and bought some conditioner and gel (which I haven’t used in YEARS) and gave it a shot this morning.

    I am really happy with the results! My hair formed into really nice natural curls today and it feels good! And my scalp feels moisturized! And the conditioner all rinsed out! I didn’t leave any in, as some of the websites suggest, since I don’t really need that. I just rinsed it all out.

    I’m super stoked to have figured this out and that it is something that isn’t going to nickel and dime me to death.

    Here are some before and after photos. The one of the left was taken on Sunday and the one on the right was taken this morning.

    img_3805
    Curly Girl method, day 1!
    Curly Girl method, day 1!

    Another hair-related empowering moment  was that I realized, and learned how to, trim my own hair over the weekend. This is something that will take some practice but, again, I’m really happy to not have to go to a salon to do this. Personally, I hate getting my hair cut at the salon because it is never done right and I hate the hour of awkward conversation. Doing it myself is so much better!

    Here is a good video about the Curly Girl method that I found helpful. And here is a website that will tell you pretty much everything you would want to know about it.

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • Fourth of July

    Fourth of July

    July 4, 2017

    It was a very small-town timber festival kind of day.

    We headed out to Estacada and watched log sawing and log rolling competitions. And then we came home and pinholed ourselves setting off fireworks 💥

    img_3792img_3791

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • Sunday Runday

    Sunday Runday

    July 3, 2017

    I am training for another half marathon which is in September, so I will be posting running posts once a week . 

    I started training a couple of weeks ago and am using the Galloway method of running and walking in intervals. There is a small, competitive part of me that feels like walking during a run is “wrong” but Galloway makes a compelling case for it. The. Biggest selling point for me is less injury. And I tend to get injured kind of a lot so… And honesty the walking doesn’t slow me down much. It gives me time to recover and the segments when I run tend to be faster, so it all evens out.  I’ve never been a fast distance runner anyway, so I kind of don’t care all that much about time.

    In this training program I’m running 30 minutes on Tuesdays and Thursdays with my long run on Sundays. For the 30 minute runs I don’t walk, so I end up running a little over 3 miles. 

    I round it all out with cross training on the other days. I’ve been trying Keelo, which I really like. I’ve also been going to the gym for the elliptical machine.

    Yesterday I ran 7.5 miles! It’s been awhile since I’ve run longer distances and it feels great. 

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • The Awesome List, revisited again

    The Awesome List, revisited again

    July 2, 2017

    I’ve been thinking lately about all of the things I want to do and places I want to see. I have made a few lists here in the past so I thought it would be fun to revisit them to see where I’m at and what I want to add. I have some specific things I’ve been thinking about lately that I will probably do sooner rather than later.

    Let’s start with my original list. There aren’t very many things here! And I’ve done them all!:

    √1. Develop my own film. Done! and there’s even a blog post to prove it. 

    √2. Travel travel travel. Wow. This wish came true in the best way ever. When I wrote the original blog post I had no idea I would meet an amazing tribe of people with the same interest in pinhole photography and that I would travel around the world to meet up with them once a year. Hell, I had no idea I’d be doing pinhole photography for that matter.

    √3. Publish my own, handmade book. Did this! I made a book to celebrate my blog’s 10th anniversary in 2013. I handmade 25 books (more like zines) and gave them away to my readers. It was such a fun project!

    √4. Make Art. This is kinda vague. But I’ve been doing all sorts of art. My desire to sketch ebbs and flows. Currently not really interested in it. But pinhole photography has really filled a creative void in my life. 

    5. Visit underground Portland. Still have yet to do this.

    √6. Get a manicure. Finally did this! I feel indifferent about it now. I’m not really a manicure/pedicure kind of girl. I’ve got runner’s feet and my toenails are falling off and it just kind of seems like a waste to paint them. In general It just seems like money that I could spend elsewhere. If I had extra money to spend I wouldn’t mind getting weekly manicures but on the other hand I couldn’t really give a fuck. 

    √3. Go on an epic hike. Honestly not sure why this is here. Epic hikes are a part of my lifestyle and have been for many, many years. I have some ideas for more of them, which I will talk about in another post. 

    I have another, longer, list that I’ve revisited already. So in another post I think I will list some very specific things that I want to do. I think being specific is key to actually doing those things that are on the bucket list. I definitely have some specific things that I am excited to jump into soon.

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
  • Hate = Pain

    Hate = Pain

    July 1, 2017

    “I imagine that one of the reasons people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with pain.”

    – James Baldwin, Notes of a Native Son

    Share this:

    • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
    • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
    • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
    • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
    • Print (Opens in new window) Print
    • Email a link to a friend (Opens in new window) Email
    • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
    Like Loading…
Previous Page Next Page

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

 

Loading Comments...
 

    • Subscribe Subscribed
      • Blatherskite
      • Join 336 other subscribers
      • Already have a WordPress.com account? Log in now.
      • Blatherskite
      • Subscribe Subscribed
      • Sign up
      • Log in
      • Report this content
      • View site in Reader
      • Manage subscriptions
      • Collapse this bar
    %d